Mindframe social media advisory group

social mediaThe Mindframe social media advisory group meeting was established recently to facilitate conversations and support  media and mental health and suicide prevention sector professionals to safely, accurately ad effectively discuss suicide and mental illness on social media. 

Current membership includes the following organisations and individuals:



  • ABC Radio - Samantha Lee, Social Media Producer
  • Media Entertainment and Arts Alliance - Mark Phillips, Communications Manager, Media
  • Australian Press Council - Michael Rose, Director of Research and Communications
  • Australian Associated Press - Joanne Williamson, Deputy Editor
  • Fairfax - Paul Roberts, Group Managing Editor, Sydney group - Suburban newspapers
  • News.com.au - James Law, Senior Journalist

Mental health and suicide prevention

  • Suicide Prevention Australia - Kim Borrowdale, Corporate Communications Manager
  • Mental Health Australia - Joanne Huxley, Acting Director Communications
  • beyondblue - Marnie Banger, Social Media Manager and Communications 
  • Lifeline - Courtney Boland, Marketing Coordinator/Engagement
  • On the Line - Ellise McLoughlan, Communications Manager
  • National StandBy Response Service - Jill Fisher, National StandBy Coordinator and Communications and Media
  • SANE Australia - Jeremy Little, Digital Marketing and Communications Advisor
  • headspace - Michael Bennett, Senior Corporate Communications Advisor
  • ReachOut.com Australia - Ashley DeSilva, Director of Marketing and Communications
  • 5flags - Helen Osman, Jen O'Brien, Co-Founders

Priority populations

  • Indigenous X - Luke Pearson, Founder
  • National Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasters' Council - Tara Egan, Project Officer 
  • Transcultural Mental Health Centre NSW - Maria Cassaniti, Centre Manager
  • LGBTI Health Alliance - Warren Summers, Membership and Communications Coordinator
  • JOY 94.9 - James Findlay, Program Director


  • University of Sydney - Dr Fiona Martin, Australian Research Council Discovery Early Career Research Award fellow and Research Director at the Department of Media and Communications